Elope To New Hampshire
Judith A. Wilhelmy, MEd   President of the New Hampshire Justice of the Peace Association

 

Waterside Weddings

 

"I'd LOVE to marry you"

  Judith, Justice of the Peace

Marriage Laws

MARRIAGE APPLICATIONS IN NEW HAMPSHIRE AND MASSACHUSETTS


NOTE: NO BLOOD TESTS IN EITHER STATE

SAME SEX MARRIAGES ALLOWED IN BOTH STATES

NO WAITING PERIOD IN NEW HAMPSHIRE---3 DAY WAIT IN MASSACHUSETTS

NEW HAMPSHIRE            

WHO CAN GET MARRIED IN NEW HAMPSHIRE   All persons wishing to be married in the State of New Hampshire must complete a Marriage License application with any City or Town Clerk regardless of their place of residence. This includes out-of-state residents. Once the marriage license is issued, the couple is free to marry within any city or town in the State of New Hampshire.Both individuals must appear at the same time in the Office of the City Clerk. However, if either party (or both) is a member of the armed forces, he or she shall forward an affidavit of marriage intentions, prepared by the armed forces legal representative, to the City Clerk, if he or she cannot appear in person.Marriage is not permitted in New Hampshire between people who are related by blood as first cousins or in any more direct lineage.A male or female who has reached the age of 18 can marry without parental permission. A female between the age of 13 and 17 years and a male between the age of 14 and 17 years can be married only with the permission of their parent (guardian) and a waiver. A female below the age of 13 and a male below the age of 14 are not allowed to marry under any condition.

WHERE TO APPLY All persons wishing to be married in the State of New Hampshire must complete a Marriage License application with any City or Town Clerk regardless of their place of residence. This includes out-of-state residents. Once the marriage license is issued, the couple is free to marry within any city or town in the State of New Hampshire.

COST Licenses are $50.00, payable in cash only.

IDENTIFICATION NEEDED  Proof of age (A certified birth certificate will be required for all individuals applying for a marriage license)---  Government Issued Photo identification (i.e. driver's license, passport)---  A certified copy of a death certificate of a former spouse, if applicant is widowed---  A certified or absolute copy of a final divorce decree, if the applicant is divorced--- A certified or absolute copy of an annulment decree, if the applicant’s previous marriage or civil union was annulled.--- A certified or absolute copy of a civil union dissolution, if the applicant's previous civil union was dissolved---Documents that are not in English must be accompanied by a translation that has been signed by the translator. A notary must witness the translator's signature.

INFORMATION NEEDED The following information is required for both persons.Full Name, Address, Social Security Number, Race, Ancestry, Years of Education, Date of Birth, State of Birth, Certified record of date last marriage/civil union ended, if applicable, Father's Full Name and State of Birth, Mother's Full Name (Maiden) and State of BirthNeither witnesses nor blood tests are required.

LICENSE DURATION  The license is valid the same day as purchase or can be used during the next 90 days from the date of application. It is valid in any New Hampshire city or town regardless of place of purchase.

MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE  A marriage certificate is a copy of the record certified by the city or town clerk or by the Registrar of the Vital Records and Health Statistics and serves as evidence of the fact of marriage.Certified Copies of Marriage Certificates are available for $15.00 for the first copy and $10.00 for subsequent copies, at the City Hall where the license was purchased approximately 2 weeks following the ceremony.

NAME CHANGE   If name changes are desired, a certified copy of the marriage certificate, is presented to any agency where the name change would be recorded; social security, driver's licenses, creditors, etc. 

MASSACHUSETTS     WHO CAN GET MARRIED MASSACHUSETTS  

Both Residents and Non Residents can marry in Massachusetts 

WHO CAN NOT MARRY IN MASSACHUSETTS You may not marry certain relatives, as follows: no man shall marry his mother, grandmother, daughter, granddaughter, sister, stepmother, grandfather's wife, grandson's wife, wife's mother, wife's grandmother, wife's daughter, wife's granddaughter, brother's daughter, sister's daughter, father's sister or mother's sister, and no woman shall marry her father, grandfather, son, grandson, brother, stepfather, grandmother's husband, daughter's husband, granddaughter's husband, husband's grandfather, husband's son, husband's grandson, brother's son, sister's son, father's brother or mother's brother.

WHERE TO APPLY  Both parties must go together to get the license at any City or Town Hall. The wedding does not have to take place in the city or town of application, but the license must be returned to the place of purchase by the officient. 

COST   The cost varies from place to place. Some towns accept checks, all towns accept cash. 

INFORMATION NEEDED• Proof of age (A certified birth certificate or passport is required for all individuals applying for a marriage license under the age of 24--- When either person is under (18) eighteen years old, a court order must be obtained from the probate court or district court where the minor resides. The parent must accompany the underage person along with the eligible person to the court prior to filing for the license. In Boston, proof of age is required if under the age of (24) twenty-four. For proof of age, a certified birth record or passport is required.• Social Security Number (card is not necessary if number can be provided.• Government Issued Photo identification (i.e. driver's license, passport)• Any person filing in Massachusetts who has been married and is divorced does not have to file divorce papers, but that individual's divorce must be FINAL at the time of the application date.• Neither witnesses nor blood tests are required.

LICENSE DURATION   There is a (3) three day waiting period to receive your license. The license is valid for (60) sixty days from the day you originally file and may be used in any city or town within the Commonwealth. This license cannot be used outside of this state. A waiver of the (3) three day waiting period can be applied for at the city or town clerk's office where you apply and then presented to a court of competent jurisdiction for approval. 

MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE  To obtain a copy of your marriage certificate, you may either complete the Application for Marriage Certificate at the counter, print out and fill in the Marriage Certificate request form (PDF), OR include the following information in a letter:• The name of Party A (including maiden name if applicable)• The name of Party B (including maiden name if applicable).• The date and place of marriage.• Relationship to the person whose certificate is requested.• Your handwritten signature and complete return mailing address

NAME CHANGE   If name changes are desired, a certified copy of the marriage certificate, is presented to any agency where the name change would be recorded; social security, driver's licenses, creditors, etc.  

                                                                                                                            START AGAIN GO BACK  TO HOME